The World Affairs Council of San Antonio was chartered in July 1982. It is a not-for-profit and non-partisan citizen’s educational forum focusing on foreign policy issues that affect our lives directly. Entirely local in governing and support, it services all individuals and organizations interested in its goals. We are a member of the World Affairs Councils of America.

Our Mission

We strive to promote public understanding of world affairs and United States foreign policy and to enhance the ability of its citizens and future leaders to participate in a global community. We accomplish our mission by presenting lectures, organizing discussion groups, sponsoring educational outreach programs, and hosting deliberative sessions for young professionals.

Council Bylaws

Most recent bylaws can be reviewed here. World Affairs ByLaws

Board Members

Danny J. Anderson, Ph.D.
President, Trinity University
Ambassador Cresencio Arcos
International Consultant
Robert M. Barnett
Cavazos, & Newton, LLP
Lisa Blonkvist
Morgan Stanley
John “JJ” Casey
Peter Cavazos
T. Ruth Chang
A.B. Cruz III
Marshall V. Davidson Jr.
Avison Young
Miguel E. Dilley
Dilley Law Firm PLLC
Gloria Steves Dilley
Steves and Sons, Inc.
Shahrzad (Sherry) Dowlatshahi
City of San Antonio
Tim Farrell
Rob Finney
Mike Flores, Ph.D.
Alamo Colleges
Lukin T. Gilliland, Jr.
Incyte Venture Partners, LLC
Brandon Grossman
BG Group LLC
The Honorable Phil Hardberger
Dykema Cox Smith
Byron C. Hepburn, Maj. Gen, USAF Ret, MD
Military Health Institute, UT Health San Antonio
Patrick J. Kennedy Jr.
Kennedy Sutherland LLP
Kathleen Tobin Krueger
Hope Hospice
Elizabeth Lorenz
Jesse S. Lotay
Jackson Walker LLP
Timothy S. Martin, Ph.D.
Southwest Research Institute
D. Kirk McDonald
Zachry Group
Bill Rasco, Col., USAF, MSC (Ret.)
American Hospital Association
Lillian Riojas
Robert Rohlfs
Ricardo Romo, Ph.D.
Daniela Serna
Pam Shaw
Cynthia Teniente-Matson, Ph.D.
Texas A&M University- San Antonio
W. Glenn Thomas
Frost National Bank
Karen Thompson
NuStar Energy, LP
Kristin Tips
Patrick B. Tobin
Jackson Walker LLP


Board Engagement

Peggy Pace


Education Committee

Julie Weber


Marketing Committee

Nominating Committee

Nicolas Hollis



T. Ruth Chang